Guðmundur Ingólfsson Trio had been commissioned by state radio to commit a live set of popular standards to a two-track real. The idea sounded brilliant to the trio, but thought it could be better if they had a singer.

Björk's previous appearances on a local jazz radio program called Godravina Fundur had made an impression on Gudmunður Steingrímsson (otherwise known as Papa Jazz) He also had fond memories of her when she was just 16 years old, jazz obsessive, hanging around his recording sessions at Labbi Thorarinsson's farm Glora.

"We were recording one of the first of Guðmundur Ingólfsson's records," St. Steingrímsson recalls. "She was in the countryside then and she was always coming in. She was very interested because she liked jazz... she liked every kind of music." Upon Steingrímsson's request, the trio asked Björk to participate, and she jumped at the chance.

Björk selected the program's setlist, and brought them back to the trio, who learned the few they didn't already know.

Gling Gló is..
Björk Guðmundsdóttir: Vocals
Gudmunður Ingólfsson: Piano
Gudmunður Steingrímsson: Drums
þórdur Högnason: Bass


1. Gling-gló
2. Luktar Gvendur
3. Kata rokkar
4. Pabbi minn
5. Brestir og brak
6. Ástartöfrar
7. Bella símamær
8. Litli tónlistarmadurinn
9. Thad sést ekki sætari mey
10. Bílavísur
11. Tondeleyo
12. Ég veit ei hvad skal segja
13. Í dansi med thér
14. Börnin vid tjörnina
15. Ruby Baby
16. I Can't Help Loving That Man

Icelandic and English lyrics

On august 30th, 1990 the group made their debut at Hotel Borg, where the audiance's reaction was immediate. Not long afterwards, the quartet found themselves in Reykjavík's Studio Syrland, recorded live off the floor at a breakneck pace without almost any overdubs. Dubbed Gling Gló (ding dong, or the clanging of bells), the resulting record was completed in just two days.

Gling Gló was released in Christmas 1990 to almost instant acclaim, and quickly went platinum in Iceland.

Liner-note translation
Conceptual Cover art by Óskar Jónasson
Cover Art by Óskar Jónasson

"There should not be any need to introduce Gudmundur Ingˇlfsson's Trio, as loved as it is ...[on about the trio and the jazz for the first page] ...[on to the second page]... when the forces of nature Bjork Gudmundsdottir [doesn't make sense in Icelandic either] enwraps it self, the partners [the trio] fly high and deep into the core of the jazz-pop of the fifties to the extend that they escape time and space. Listeners will get an unique opportunity on this CD to experience the mysterious and random meeting of umbrellas of the past and sowing-machines of the present, on the keyboard. Katie rocks in Bjork's disguise. Bjork is Bella telephone-operator and Adda Ornolfs. Bjork is Ingibjorg, Sigrun and Soffia. Bjork is. The lyrics span old and classic realms of passion. these are the final scenes of Electra and Oedipus. It is man's wish to kneed together, from time and space, their own special dream-dough. Here is where the dream comes true. Enjoy. Magnus Thor Jonsson."

  (Source: Svanborg Sigmarsdottir on BEP, January 2000)

1024x768 wallpapers

100x100 icons
Special thanks to:  
Stina Adalsteinsdóttir, Silja Bara Omarsdóttir, Arni Arnasson, Vala Gudbjartsdóttir, Leo Moran, Stefán Sigurjónsson, B-Sting and | björkish